About the Switch

Earlier, I made a reference to comments and whether or not they would make the transition and join my posts in this new universe called WordPress. Turns out my fears were unfounded, and in the founding is a short lesson. If you use a full featured blogging package, like I did with Typepad , your comments function is built in and is very robust.

With that power came a monthly fee.

When it came time to start a second blog, I opted for a free platform (name not mentioned here). Anticipating a flood of comments, I installed a 3rd party comments package. It is the 3rd party package that did not make the crossing. It is of little import since the paucity of comments is too embarassing to discuss in detail.

Although WordPress is free, it comes with much more functionality than the unnamed platform (although I still have to embed links in HTML by myself).

Lesson: Do your homework before establishing a blog, and carefully study the platform of choice. Remember that free often means “less power” and plan accordingly.

2 thoughts on “About the Switch

  1. Joan

    As much as I love the lowcountry blogroll I suspect it has been death to comments. People tend to read the entries there and not actually visit the blog. The reason I still get comments is that my blog hosting program still has a community spirit amongst its members.

    Reply
  2. Agricola

    I completely agree with you. As well, I use Google Reader (like many, I suspect) and that is yet another hindrance to commenting. It’s almost as if the community needs to be encouraged to comment, but that can lead down an uncertain path, viz. Kittens on the Keyboard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

